Meet the Academic Staff

Our well-qualified and dedicated teaching staff are committed to their task, passionate about the school, and always prepared to go the extra mile. They take an interest not only in the academic progress of the boys they teach, but also in their wider areas of achievement.

So, what is it that makes for strong academic performance? At Maritzburg College, we believe that it is committed students, competent and dedicated teachers and a stimulating, challenging environment with healthy competition between boys. It’s not just about ‘passing Matric’ but about preparing young men for life.

There is often debate around the value of single-sex education, and at Maritzburg College we believe that at an all-boys school, we can celebrate boys’ strengths. There is no doubt that many differences exist in the ways boys and girls learn. We tailor our programmes and activities to the way boys grow and learn. We focus on guiding boys on their journey to manhood and support and celebrate their growth. The achievement, engagement, character and well-being of all our boys is important to us.

Keith Guise-Brown
Senior Deputy Headmaster
Mathematics
MIC: Rugby
keithgb@mcollege.co.za

Jeanette Finnie
Deputy Headmistress: Academics
Life Sciences
finniej@mcollege.co.za

Matthew Marwick (OC)
Deputy Headmaster: Boarding
Economics
Rugby, Cricket Admin
Chairman: Archives Committee
MIC: Rugby Referees’ Society
marwickm@mcollege.co.za

Brandon Swart (OC)
Deputy Headmaster: Co-Curricular
Boarder Master: Elliott
English
Speakers’ Circle
Hockey
swartb@mcollege.co.za

Ingo Talke
Deputy Headmaster: Pastoral Care
Geography
talkie@mcollege.co.za

Ryan Kyle (OC)
Admissions PRO
Physical Education, Geography, Life Orientation
Rugby, Athletics
kyler@mcollege.co.za

Graham Dorling
HOD: Forms 2 & 3
Geography
Cricket, Rugby
dorlingg@mcollege.co.za

Piet Snyman
HOD: Forms 4, 5 and 6
Boarder Master: Elliott House
Mathematics
Golf
snymanp@mcollege.co.za

Nigel Sutherland
HOD: Human & Social Studies
Housemaster: Forder’s
Geography
Swimming, Rugby, Athletics, Waterpolo
sutherlandn@mcollege.co.za

James Maistry
Director: Digital Learning
HOD: Information Technology
Sciences, CAT, Mathematics
maistryj@mcollege.co.za

Dave Pryke (OC)
HOD: Leadership
Life Sciences and Natural Science
1st XI Cricket, Hockey
pryked@mcollege.co.za

Drikus Hoffman (OC)
Assistant HOD: Leadership
Physical Science, Mathematics
Cricket, Rugby
hoffmand@mcollege.co.za

Rodelle Govender
HOD: Languages
Subject Head: English
Debating
govenderr@mcollege.co.za

Cora Tedder
Subject Head: Accounting
Housemaster: Snow’s
MIC: Squash
Cricket
tedderc@mcollege.co.za

Cecile de Wet
Subject Head: Afrikaans
dewetc@mcollege.co.za

Gerhard Erasmus
Subject Head: Agric Science & Maths Literacy
Housemaster: Calder’s
Boarder Master: Elliott House
Life Sciences, Physical Science, Natural Science
Cycling
erasmusg@mcollege.co.za

Fiona Deyzel
Subject Head: AP Maths & Mathematics
Extra Mathematics
deyzelf@mcollege.co.za

Lisa Akerman
Subject Head: Business Studies
EMS
Cycling, Cross Country, Athletics
akermanl@mcollege.co.za

Kamany Thaver
Subject Head: Creative and Dramatic Arts
Drama Productions
Assistant Teacher: Hindu Society
thaverk@mcollege.co.za

Nithia Pillay
Subject Head: Economics
Housemaster: Strachan’s
MIC: Table Tennis
Hindu Society
pillayn@mcollege.co.za

Ricky Chirengende
Subject Head: EMS
Boarder Master: Hudson House
Business Studies
Rugby, Cricket
chirengender@mcollege.co.za

Ben Bosch
Subject Head: EGD
Housemaster: Pape’s
Technical Drawing
boschb@mcollege.co.za

Bruce Collocott
Subject Head: Geography
Cricket, Rugby
collocottb@mcollege.co.za

Chris Dutton
Subject Head: History
Assistant Housemaster: Lamond’s
Boarder Master: Hudson
English
Rugby, Cricket
duttonc@mcollege.co.za

Simon Mhlongo
Subject Head: isiZulu
Assistant Housemaster: Snow’s
Basketball, Soccer
simonm@mcollege.co.za

Melanie Greyling
Subject Head: Life Sciences
Mathematics
greylingm@mcollege.co.za

Simon Stickells
Director of Music
Boarder Master: Clark House
Rugby
MIC: Sound & Lighting
stickellss@mcollege.co.za

Mary-Ann Rembold
Subject Head: Physical Science
Housemaster: Barns’
Mathematics
Khanyisa Programme
remboldm@mcollege.co.za

Saskia Osbourne
Subject Head: Visual Arts
osbournes@mcollege.co.za

Sarah Akerman
Creative and Visual Arts
Art Club
akermans@mcollege.co.za

Mario Baptista
Assistant Housemaster: Pape’s
EGD, Technical Drawing
Cricket, Hockey, Soccer, eSports
baptistam@mcollege.co.za

Ron Barbour (OC)
Housemaster: Clark House
Dramatic Arts, History
MIC: CFC
Actor’s Workshop, Drama
Cricket
barbourr@mcollege.co.za

Christopher Barnsley (OC)
English
Cricket, Hockey, Athletics
barnsleyc@mcollege.co.za

Gavin Barrable
Physical Science, Maths
Cricket, Rugby, Soccer
barrableg@mcollege.co.za

Lukas Booysen
Boarding Assistant
Afrikaans
Cricket, Rugby, Athletics
booysenl@mcollege.co.za

Bernice Borain
Assistant Housemaster: Fuller’s
English
MIC: Chess
MC Ink
borainb@mcollege.co.za

Sheldon Bosch (OC)
Computer Literacy, CAT, EGD
Canoeing, Rugby
boschs@mcollege.co.za

Steve Botha
Assistant Housemaster: Barn’s
Afrikaans
Rugby, Cricket, Athletics
bothas@mcollege.co.za

Liesl Couperthwaite
Subject Head: Physical Science
MIC: Debating
couperthwaitel@mcollege.co.za

Nicholas Croeser
English
Aquatics, Hockey
croesern@mcollege.co.za

Dee Dickens
Life Orientation, Natural Science
Interact Club, Rhino/Enviro Club/Blood Bank
dickensd@mcollege.co.za

Michael Dibben (OC)
IT Support, Science Technician
MIC: Soccer
Cricket
dibbenm@mcollege.co.za

Liesl dos Anjos Santos
Tertiary Studies, Career Guidance
santosl@mcollege.co.za

Kyle Emerson
Housemaster: Hudson House
Geography
MIC: Hockey
Cricket
emersonk@mcollege.co.za

Wendi Erasmus
English
Learner Support
erasmusw@mcollege.co.za

Tamaryn Fletcher
Mathematics
Squash, Hockey
fletchert@mcollege.co.za

Cameron Fraser
Housemaster: Elliott House
Afrikaans, Business Studies
Athletics, Cricket, Rugby
fraserc@mcollege.co.za

Elma Fraser
Afrikaans, Drama
Afrikaans Society, School Productions, Debating
frasere@mcollege.co.za

Debbie Gademan
Mathematics, Extra Mathematics
Photography Club
gademand@mcollege.co.za

Gonas Govindasamy
Housemaster: Nicholson’s
EGD, Technology
MIC: Shooting
govindasamyg@mcollege.co.za

Ailsa Greyling
Housemaster: Lamond’s
Afrikaans
MIC: Athletics
First Aid
greylinga@mcollege.co.za

Rob Gutteridge
Media Centre Manager
Media Centre Monitors
MIC: MC Ink
gutteridger@mcollege.co.za

Bruce Henderson
Housemaster: Fuller’s
Geography, History, Maths Literacy
Cricket, Rugby, Athletics
hendersonb@mcollege.co.za

Dedre Immelman
Afrikaans
Tennis
immelmand@mcollege.co.za

Gavin Jelley
Boarder Master: Nathan House
Life Sciences, Natural Science, Geography
Waterpolo, Hockey
jelleyg@mcollege.co.za

Robin Jones
Boarder Master: Nathan House
Physical Education, EMS, Life Orientation
MIC: Cinematography
High Performance Hockey, Cricket
jonesr@mcollege.co.za

Danie Kleinhans
Mathematics, Maths Literacy
kleinhansd@mcollege.co.za

Sanet Kritzinger
Physical Science, Natural Science, Mathematics
Basketball
First Aid
kritzingers@mcollege.co.za

Gertie Landsberg
Afrikaans
Afrikaans Kultuur
landsbergg@mcollege.co.za

Dorian Larter
Housemaster: Nathan House
Canoeing, Hockey
larterd@mcollege.co.za

Goi le Roux (OC)
English teacher in training
Rugby, Athletics
lerouxg@mcollege.co.za

Kim Lindie
English
MIC: Debating
MC Ink
lindiek@mcollege.co.za

Ruan Lombard
Boarder Master: Clark House
Subject Head: Physical Education
Life Orientation
Rugby, Cricket, Athletics
lombardr@mcollege.co.za

Tarryn Louch
English
Editor: School Magazine
loucht@mcollege.co.za

Phillipa Lowe
Subject Head: Life Orientation
English
lowep@mcollege.co.za

Jacques Lyons
Assistant Housemaster: Strachan’s
Afrikaans
Aquatics, Rugby
lyonsj@mcollege.co.za

David Maistry
Director of Operations
Mathematics
maistryd@mcollege.co.za

Rob Marriott
Life Science, Natural Science
MIC: Canoeing
marriottr@mcollege.co.za

Leigh-Ann Moffatt
Remedial Mathematics, Extra Mathematics
moffattl@mcollege.co.za

Richard Moolman (OC)
Maths
Cricket, Rugby, Athletics
moolmanr@mcollege.co.za

Tony Nevill
English, History

Memory Ngcobo
Boarder Master: Clark House
isiZulu
Basketball, Hockey, Soccer
MIC: Gospel Choir
memoryn@mcollege.co.za

Sanele Ngema (OC)
Boarder Master: Clark House
English, Economics, Accounting, EMS
Basketball, Rugby
ngemas@mcollege.co.za

Jenny Orchard
English
MIC: Basketball
Hockey
orchardj@mcollege.co.za

Tim Orchard (OC)
Assistant Housemaster: Calder’s
Geography, History
Cricket, Rugby
orchardt@mcollege.co.za

Adrienne Phillips
English, English Enrichment
Debating Education
phillipsa@mcollege.co.za

Ghemma Quin
Creative Arts, Visual Arts
Table Tennis
quing@mcollege.co.za

Caren Randall
EMS, Accounting, Business Studies
randallc@mcollege.co.za

Nicolaas Robberts
Assistant Housemaster: Nicholson House
EGD, Technical Drawing
robbertsn@mcollege.co.za

Dr Rosanne Salmond
Mathematics, Physical Science, Natural Science
Hockey, Squash
salmond@mcollege.co.za

Darren Sherriff
Boarder Master: Hudson
Physical Education, Maths Literacy, Life Orientation
MIC: Waterpolo
1st Waterpolo, Rugby
sherriffd@mcollege.co.za

Linda Shezi
Assistant Housemaster: Common’s
isiZulu, Life Orientation, Computer Literacy
Cricket, Soccer
shezil@mcollege.co.za

Murray-John Smit (OC)
Geography, English, History
Cricket, Athletics, Rugby
smitm@mcollege.co.za

Gerda Talke
Afrikaans, Remedial Afrikaans
talke@mcollege.co.za

Ngcebo Thembela (OC)
Economics and EMS
thembelan@mcollege.co.za

Sandra Thorpe
Librarian, Media Studies
Media Centre Monitors, Tech Squad
thorpes@mcollege.co.za

Cheryl Townsend
Accounting, EMS
Swimming
townsendc@mcollege.co.za

Darryl Trodd
Housemaster: Commons’
Physical Science
Golf
trodd@mcollege.co.za

Maria Troveri
Afrikaans
Tennis
troverim@mcollege.co.za

Graeme Waters (OC)
Assistant Housemaster: Forder’s
Physical Education, History, Geography
Swimming, Waterpolo, Rugby, Athletics
watersg@mcollege.co.za

Suzanne Webley
Mathematics
Khanyisa Programme
webleysg@mcollege.co.za

Scelo Zuma (OC)
Accounting and EMS
Rugby, Athletics
zumas@mcollege.co.za