Cross Country at Maritzburg College

Cross country running is offered at College as a winter sport. A small but dedicated group of boys make use of this option, testing their endurance on a wide variety of open-air courses and building a high level of fitness.

Cross country started at College in 1966 as a result of a league that was established. In that year, College won all events. Similar results were enjoyed until 1972. From 1980, a group of juniors began to make their presence felt and, as they moved up in the school, the spirit of renaissance spread upwards. In 1984 and 1985, the College senior and junior teams made up the entire Pietermaritzburg and District teams!

Names that stand out are V Cockbain, who, with his arm in plaster, managed to set a national senior cross country record in 1983 and A Baker, who, in 1985, won the SA Schools’ Competition in his age group.

There are approximately six race meetings in the Midlands League in the second term. Top runners can elect to run in KZN Trials if they wish. Several boys choose to do running as a second sport in order to enhance their fitness for other sports such as rugby, hockey and canoeing.

The Ryan Clive-Smith Trophy is awarded to the top senior cross country runner each year. A lovely Caroll Boyes figure was kindly donated by Ryan, a phenomenal athlete and the current record holder of the senior cross country since 1991.