Members of the Governing Body are elected volunteers who work as part of a team in the best interests of the school; they are not involved with the short-term operational planning, rather the long-term, strategic planning determining the aims and overall vision for the school.

The term of office for the elected members is three years with the office bearers being elected annually.

The Governing Body supports the Headmaster in his professional management of the school. It adopts a Constitution annually and ensures that the school is run along sound business principles.

Governing Body’s monitoring takes place via various sub-committees i.e. Boarding, Facilities Development, Finance, Legal, Marketing and Fundraising. The main areas of responsibility are the setting and implementation of the annual Budget; annual review the school’s policies, ensuring the maintenance and development of the property of the school and the employment and retention of qualified staff.

2021 SGB

College Governing Body


Jeff Finnie

Chairman: Governing Body Foundation
Chairman: Finance Committee &  Trust

Vice Chairman

Craig Mackenzie

Vice-Chairman: Board;
Vice-Chairman: Strategy;
Vice-Chairman: Master Plan & Social Awareness Council


Ashley Cotterrell

Chairman: Finance Committee

Parent Representatives

Angus Findlay

Chairman: Legal Committee

Herman Goslett

Chairman: Boarder Parents Committee

Amon Kasambala

Legal Committee
Social Awareness Council

Tabitha Lolliot

Facilities Development Committee

Andrew Pratt

Goldstones Club
Marketing & Fundraising

Rob Warr

Chairman: Facilities Development Committee

Staff members


Chris Luman

Board, Finance: Trust & Foundation,
Patron: Old Boy’s Association


Sue Calmeyer

Board & Goldstones Club

Educator Representatives

Thobeka Shata

Non-Educator Liason
Fundraising (CSi & BEE)

Simon Mhlongo

Educator Liason
Academic Staff Professional Committee

Leigh-Ann Moffatt

Educator Liason
Academic Staff Professional Committee

Brandon Swart

Educator Liason
Academic Staff Professional Committee
Co-curricular & Facilities Development

Learner representatives

Azile Dlamini

Learner Liaison
RCL – Deputy

Callum Lee

Learner Liaison
RCL – Chair

Luando Magwaza

Learner Liaison
RCL – Secretary

Co-opted members

Grant Little

President – Old Boy’s Association
Board & Trust

Craig MacKenzie

Chairman – College Board, Social Awareness, Facilities Development, Master Plan

Steve Colenbrander

Chairman – Maritzburg College Foundation

Ryan Delaney


Co-opted members

Rehaz Abramia

Finance Committee
Social Awareness Council

Ex-officio members

Commercial Director

Sven Jager

Board; Finance; Trust  & Facilities Development

Director Business Development

Kevin Smith

Director of College Business Board
Khanyisa Outreach
Goldstones Club
Sponsorship & Fundraising