Inter-House Athletics Championship | Maritzburg College

Inter-House Athletics Championship

Inter-House Athletics Championship

Outstanding Individual Athletics Performances

Last week, the Athletics Track across the road from the school was alive with colour, cheering and energetic activity as we held our annual Interhouse Athletics Championship. Congratulations to all our athletes who participated and a huge thank you to many staff who ensured the event ran smoothly.

Highlights from the day included some outstanding individual performances which saw a number of records being broken.


  • IJ Kayembe U15 100m            10.90 was 11.3
  • IJ Kayembe U15 200m            22.50 was 23.4   broken by almost a full second
  • NJ Mosebi U16 100m            10.90 was 11.3
  • NJ Mosebi U16 200m            22.40 was 22.9
  • OL Higgins U17 800m            1:57.50 was 1:57.80


After all the events, it was time to tally the points to see the final house standing which saw Fuller finish in 1st place:

Fuller                      1
Commons              2
Lamond                 3
Calder                    4
Forder                    5
Nicholson              6
Snows                     7
Strachen                 8
Pape                        9
Barns                      10

Trophies were awarded to the following boys:

J.J. Anderson Cup – 100 m Open                       NS Ndlovu
Hyland Cup – 200 m Open                                  NS Ndlovu
Larsen Cup – 400 m Open                                  NS Ndlovu
Leach Cup – 800 m Open                                    DL Bruyns
Harrison Cup – 1 500 m Open                            DL Bruyns
|Hay Cup – 3 000 m Open.                                  JW Cumming
Colonel Stewart Cup – Long Jump Open         MH Zunckel
|Irvine Cup – Triple Jump Open                        MH Zunckel
Oxland’s Cup – High Jump Open                       MH Zunckel
Carpenter Cup – Shot Putt Open                       CJ Wessels
|Kent Cup – Discus Open                                   TM Masvikeni
Greenhalgh Cup – Javelin Open                        H Corbett

Dr Dick Cup – Open Relay                                   Lamonds|
Elton Gray Cup – Under 17 Relay                      Calder
|Elton Gray Cup – Under 16 Relay                    Commons


Tregarthen Memorial Cup – Under 14 Champion          LT Makhathini

John Geekie Cup – Under 15 Champion                           IJ Kayembe and MI Chirengende

J.H. Snow Cup – Under 16 Champion: NJ Mosebi

H Johnson Cup – Under 17 Champion: AAS Mbambo

D.J. Berry-Jennings Cup; College Shield & Victor Ludorum: MH Zunckel

Mike Viljoen Trophy – best individual performance: IJ Kayembe for the U15 100m (10.84)

Oscar Servant Trophy for the athlete who scores the most Championship Points: MH Zunckel

Nicholl’s Cup for Relay Athletics:               Commons

Chaplin Cup for Athletics:                         Fuller