The House System at Maritzburg College

Our House system provides mentorship, support and guidance to each boy throughout his time at Maritzburg College.

Within our 10 school Houses, an experienced staff, consisting of a Housemaster, Assistant Housemaster and Mentors, as well as House Captains and House Leaders, all compliment and contribute to the school’s Pastoral Care Programme.

His House is a pupil’s home base for his entire time at Maritzburg College, where he can benefit from the support provided by House Mentors, the peer mentorship offered through the Big Brother system and the camaraderie that exists within each House. Beyond this, the House system brings with it healthy competition in academic, sporting and cultural spheres throughout the year.

The 10 Houses at Maritzburg College are:

Mrs Mary-Ann Rembold


Assistant Housemaster:
Mr Steve Botha

Mr B Dodd [Fm 3]

Mrs D Gademan [Fm 6]


Mr N Thembela [Fm 5]

Ms A Phillips [Fm 2]

Ms L Mtembu [Fm 4]

Named After: 4 th headmaster; Ernest W (‘Pixie’) Barns (1902-1925).


House Captain: B Tedder  Vice Captain: B Baldrey

House Leaders:
N Mfeka, K Harlchandre, K Thornton-Dibb, B Lawson, B Baldrey




Mr Mike Reed


Assistant Housemaster:
Mr Tim Orchard

Mr N Croeser [Fm 4]

Mrs B Harris [Fm 5]

Mr M Ngcobo [Fm 3]

Mrs J Orchard [Fm 6]

Mrs P Lowe [Fm 2]

Named After: 1 st headmaster; William Calder (1863-1867)

House Captain: T Prinsloo  Vice Captain: J van der Walt

House Leaders:
L Barnard, Y Akoo, L Bourne, Z Khoza, S Ngwenya



Mr Darryl Trodd


Assistant Housemaster:
Mr S Bosch

Mr R Paterson [Fm 5]

Mrs K Thaver [Fm 2]

Mr S Mabaso [Fm 3]

Dr R Salmond [Fm 4]

Mrs Dos Santos [Fm 6]

Named After: 9 th headmaster; Hector J Commons (1966-1977)

House Captain: L Diedricks  Vice Captain: K Chetty

House Leaders:
J Brink, L Menezies, K Mngadi, S Kubheka, S Ngcobo


Mr Nigel Sutherland


Assistant Housemaster:
Mrs L Ackerman

Mr G le Roux [Fm 2]

Mr A Usher [Fm 3]

Mr B van der Walt [Fm 4]

Mrs G Talke [Fm 6]

Mr T Zuma [Fm 5]

Named After: 2 nd headmaster; James Forder, (1868-1878)

House Captain: K Huizinga  Vice Captain: C Schultz

House Leaders:
T Nzimande, M Downs, B Brummer, M Nel, J McFarland


Mr Anthony Sparrow


Assistant Housemaster:
Mrs Leigh-Ann Moffatt

Mr C Barnsley [Fm 3]

Miss C Townsend [Fm 4]

Mr S Stickells [Fm 6]

Mr N Duvenhage [Fm 5]

Mr D Kleinhans [Fm 2]

Named After: 8th headmaster Raymond E Fuller (1954-1965)

House Captain: J Duncan  Vice Captain: B Webster

House Leaders:
S Butler, N Reintges, N Msiya, H Heeralal, N Nsuntsha


Mrs Ailsa Greyling


Assistant Housemaster:
Mr Chris Dutton

Mrs C Mhlongo [Fm 3]

Mr M Warr [Fm 2]

Mr S Mkhwanazi [Fm 5]

Mr J Tyler [Fm 4]

Ms K Moula [Fm 6]

Named After:  Vice Principal Sholto Erroll Lamond, staff member (1911 – 1950, VP 1924-1950)

House Captain: L Lenz  Vice Captain: S Little

House Leaders:
S Gounder, W Mazwi, L Zondo, K Naidoo, R Bennett 


Mr Gonas Govindasamy


Assistant Housemaster:
Mrs F Deysel

Mrs C Randall [Fm 3]

Mrs L Couperthwaite [Fm 6]

Mrs D Immelman [Fm 4]

Mr C Nevay [Fm 5]

Mr M Zuma [Fm 2]

Named After: James Mervyn “Skonk” Nicholson (staff member 1948-1982, Vice-Principal)

House Captain: C Shaw  Vice Captain: B Gumede

House Leaders:
B Gumbi, B Gumede, D Odell, J Hendrikz, C Shaw


Mrs Cora Tedder


Assistant Housemaster:
Mr J Mhlongo

Mr L Booysen [Fm 2]

Mrs G Landsberg [Fm 6]

Mrs G Wylde [Fm 4]

Mrs M Troveri [Fm 5]

Clive Musasiwe

Named After: 6th headmaster; John H Snow (1937-1941)

House Captain: G Plo  Vice Captain: E Qwalela

House Leaders:
C Knight, N Trodd, C McKenzie, L Landsberg, N Moodley


Mr Ben Bosch


Assistant Housemaster:
Mrs Tarryn Louch

Mrs E Fraser [Fm 2]

MJ Smit

Mrs S Kritzinger [Fm 3]

Mr D Haswell [Fm 4]

Mrs M Maharaj [Fm 5]

Named After: 5th headmaster; Septimus W Pape (1926-1937)

House Captain: H Hankinson  Vice Captain: A Todd

House Leaders:
C Patterson, T Zondi, A Todd, L Mtolo, V Soni


Jacques Lyons


Assistant Housemaster:
Nollie Duvenage

Mrs T Schofield [Fm 4]

Mr D Sherriff [Fm 6]

Mr M Jeewan [Fm 3]

Mrs W Erasmus [Fm 2]

Mrs S Webley [Fm 5]

Named After: Deputy headmaster, Mr John Roy “Cabbage” Strachan (1962-1978)

House Captain: B Reddy  House Captain: Z Jali

House leaders:
J Jacobsen, D Anastasis, L Zondi, J Keith, T Elam