Maritzburg College is proud to play host to this year’s Sharks Primary Schools’ Rugby Tournament from Thursday, 16 May to Saturday 18 May.

The tournament attracts over 300 young players from various primary schools around the province. The enthusiastic players will be divided up into three teams from each district with six districts or regions being represented, namely the KZN Midlands, Durban Coastal, Pinetown & District, Southern KZN, Zululand and Northern KZN districts.

Established in 1995 after the demise of the Hosking Week Sports Festival the KZN Primary Schools’ Rugby Tournament (formerly known as) was formed with an ethos of integrating players of all different backgrounds with an aim of also developing school boy rugby within the province of KwaZulu-Natal.

The future star players will be rewarded at the conclusion of the tournament, three teams will be selected acknowledging top performances. The U13A side will represent the province at Craven Week.

The tournament is also an opportunity for aspiring Sharks players to grab the attention of selectors of the Sharks Academy as some may look to play professional rugby in the near future. Professional players that have emerged from this outstanding tournament include Springbok and the current Sharks fly-half Patrick Lambie, along with Springbok Sharks lock Alistair Hargreaves, Prop Patrick Cilliers of the Stormers and former Sharks winger Cedric Mkhize.

Our Proud Sponsors