Durban High School






St Charles


The History Of Rugby At College

Founded in 1863, College played its first rugby match in 1870, against Hermannsburg. Playing under Winchester rules, College won by two goals to nil and rugby quickly became the game of choice at College. Apart from a short period of time in the 1880s and 1890s, when soccer enjoyed a considerable following, it has remained the most popular winter sport at College.

In the 1920s and 1930s College rugby took a downturn in terms of both popularity and results. This was soon rectified after the Second World War when, under the guidance of the legendary Skonk Nicholson, College re-established itself as the premier rugby school in Natal.

Today the school fields up to 25 teams and participates in the foremost rugby festivals in the country. Five overseas tours have been undertaken, most recently to New Zealand in 2007.
The following College Old Boys have played international rugby:

For South Africa: EH Shum (1912-13), Wally Clarkson (1921-24), Bill Payn (1924),
BE Vanderplank (1924), Philip Nel (1928-37), George van Reenen (1937),
Keith Oxlee (1960-65), Ormond Taylor (1962), Andy van der Watt (1969-71),
Joel Stransky (1993-96), Jeremy Thomson (1996), Pieter Dixon (2000),
Butch James (2001-08), Peter Grant (2007-08), Jessie Kriel (2015)
For England: Hubert Freakes (1938-39), Geoff Appleford (2002), Don Armand (2018)
For Zimbabwe: Brenton Catterall (1991)
For United States: Juan Grobler (1997-01), Chad Erskine (2005-07)
For Italy: Wim Visser (1999-2002)
For Germany: Frank Goedeke (1996-98), Marcel Coetzee (2009)
For Cyprus: Andrew Binikos (2009)
For Spain: Andrew Norton (2019)

The History Of Hockey At College

Hockey has only had official sport status at Maritzburg College since 1974. Since then the game has grown in stature with College having had the honour of having been the first school in South Africa to lay an artificial surface on its premises and at the end of 2018 the astroturf was resurfaced.

Since 1951, College has had 34 Old Boys picked to play for South Africa, more International players than any school in the world, including 3 captains. In April 2018, Tyson Dlungwana, Siya Nolutshungu and Tevin Kok represented South Africa at the Commonwealth Games in Australia and later in the year Taine Paton, Tyson Dlungwana, Tommy Hammond and Peabo Lembethe, who earned his first cap, represented South Africa at the World Cup in India.

The school has now produced 100 SA Schools Caps in its history with 91 of these having been earned since 1980. Last year, there were five 1st XI players who were selected for the SA Schools U18 team who played against Australia in a 3 match series, namely; J Campbell, M Maphumulo, A Walstroom, A Bradford and S Ngcongo. Two boys were named in the SA U17 High Performance Squad and Four boys were selected for the SA U16 High Performance Camp. M Maphumulo and J Campbell enjoyed an exciting opportunity last year when they travelled to Algiers and represented the SA Hockey 5s team in at the Youth African Games where they won gold.