Maritzburg College Staff

Our well-qualified and dedicated teaching staff are committed to their task, passionate about the school, and always prepared to go the extra mile. They take an interest not only in the academic progress of the boys they teach, but also in their wider areas of achievement.

So, what is it that makes for strong academic performance? At Maritzburg College, we believe that it is committed students, competent and dedicated teachers and a stimulating, challenging environment with healthy competition between boys. It’s not just about ‘passing Matric’ but about preparing young men for life.

There is often debate around the value of single-sex education, and at Maritzburg College we believe that at an all-boys school, we can celebrate boys’ strengths. There is no doubt that many differences exist in the ways boys and girls learn. We tailor our programmes and activities to the way boys grow and learn. We focus on guiding boys on their journey to manhood and support and celebrate their growth. The achievement, engagement, character and well-being of all our boys is important to us.

Headmaster

avatar for Chris Luman
Chris Luman
Headmaster

Staff

Executive Committee

Headmaster:  Mr Chris Luman lumanc@mcollege.co.za

Senior Deputy Head:    Mr Ingo Talke talkei@mcollege.co.za

Deputy Head – Academics:  Mrs Jeanette Finnie finniej@mcollege.co.za

Deputy Head – Admission/Discipline:  Mr Matthew Marwick marwickm@mcollege.co.za

Deputy Head – Boarding:  Ryan Kyle kyler@mcollege.co.za

Deputy Head – Co-Curricular:  Mr Brandon Swart swartb@mcollege.co.za

Deputy Head – Operations:  Mr David Maistry maistryd@mcollege.co.za

Commercial Director:  Mr Sven Jager jagers@mcollege.co.za

Director of College Business:  Mr Tsepang Setipa dir.business@mcollege.co.za

 

Academic Heads of Department

Maths and Maths Literacy, IT and CAT: Mr James Maistry maistryj@mcollege.co.za

History, Geography, Technology, GRDST, Life Orientation:Mr Nigel Sutherland sutherlandn@mcollege.co.za

Languages, Music, Drama and Art:  Mrs Rodelle Govender

Life Sciences, Agric Sciences, Phys Science & Natural Sciences: Mr D Maistrymaistryd@mcollege.co.za

Economics, EMD, Business studies, Accounting: Mr Nithia Pillay  pillayn@mcollege.co.za

Pastoral Form 2 – 6: Mr Piet Snyman snymanp@mcollege.co.za

Discipline Form 2 – 6: Mr Graham Dorling dorlingg@mcollege.co.za

HoD Leadership: Mr Anthony Sparrow sparrow@mcollege.co.za

HoD Prefects: Mr Ndumiso Makhathini makhathinin@mcollege.co.za

HoD SAC: Mrs Rodelle Govender govenderr@mcollege.co.za

Subject Heads

Teachers

Admin/Support Staff

Admin

Reception/ General Enquiries: Mrs Denise Mitchell info@mcollege.co.za

PA to Headmaster: Mrs Sue Calmeyer calmeyer@mcollege.co.za

Admissions

Mrs Biddy Parker admissions@mcollege.co.za

Mrs Keigwyn Dovey doveyk@mcollege.co.za

 

Administration Secretary

Mrs Liz Dewes dewesl@mcollege.co.za

College Business

Director: Mr Tsepang Setipa dir.business@mcollege.co.za

Marketing & Recruitment: Mrs Sally Upfold marketing@mcollege.co.za

Foundation & Fundraising: Mr Andrew Soden andrew@collegefoundation.co.za

MCOBA: Mrs Linda Laubscher oldboys@iafrica.com

Events: Mrs Caitlin Brent Events@mcollege.co.za

 

Estates

Estates Manager: Mr Ken Hackland hacklandk@mcollege.co.za

Assistant Estates Manager: Mr Shaun Crosson

Grounds Supervisor: Mr Elton Bowes

Grounds Supervisor: Mr David Veitch

Keyholder: Mr Boy Mkise

Workshop: Mr Wilfred Zuma

Handyman: Mr Sanele Makhaye

Handyman: Mr Grafton Bowes

Painter: Mr Ernest Jafta

Handyman: Mr Gordon Knoeson

Bus Driver: Mr Eddie Rajah

Electrician: Mr Mark Seager

Handyman: Mr Enoch Sithole

Finance

Accountant: Mrs Linda Roets roetsl@mcollege.co.za

Finance Clerk: Mr Anand Moodley moodleya@mcollege.co.za

Finance Clerk: Mr Sanele Radebe radebes@mcollege.co.za

Account Queries: Mrs Odette Roets roetso@mcollege.co.za

Credit Controller: Mrs Meera Rughoo rughoom@mcollge.co.za

Debtors Clerk: Mrs Arlene Trout trouta@mcollege.co.za

Finance Clerk: Ms Yaksha Sarawan sarawany@mcollege.co.za

 

Human Resources

HR Manager: Ms Vicky Chedie hr@mcollege.co.za

HR Admin Assistant: Ms Celeste Naidoo naidooc@mcollege.co.za

 

IT

Network Administrator: Mr Vishal Rajpaul rajpaulv@mcollege.co.za

IT Development Assistant: Mr Michael Dibben dibbenm@mcollege.co.za

IT Technician: Mr Thingo Tshabalala tshabalalat@mcollege.co.za

IT Admin Assistant: Mrs Felicity Jolliffe harperf@mcollege.co.za

IT Admin Assistant: Miss Minenhle Mtshali mtshalim@mcollege.co.za

IT Admin Assistant: Mrs Elaine Baxter baxtere@mcollege.co.za

Laboratory Assistants

Mrs Cindy Sewmungal sewmugalc@mcollege.co.za

Mr Evasen Rajah rajahev@mcollege.co.za

 

Media Centre Staff

Library & Information Resources Manager: Mr Rob Gutteridge gutteridger@mcollege.co.za

Librarian: Mrs Sandra Thorpe thorpes@mcollege.co.za

Library Assistant: Mrs Sue Bentley bentleys@mcollege.co.za

Library Assistant: Mrs Carol Smith smithc@mcollege.co.za

Museum

Curator of Museum & Archives: Mrs Hayley Strachan strachanh@mcollege.co.za

Pupil Office

Administrative Assistant: Miss Cashel Hackland hacklandc@mcollege.co.za

Sanatorium

Senior San Sister: Mrs Kylie Townsend san@mcollege.co.za

San Sister: Mrs Nikki Price

San Administrative Assistant: Mrs Nolene Steenkamp

San General Worker: Mr Patrick Sithole

Shoppe

Shop Manageress: Mrs Louise Snyman shoppe@mcollege.co.za

Shop Assistant: Mrs Adelaide Zuma shoppe@mcollege.co.za

Sports 

Co-curricular Administration: Mrs Stacey Emerson emersons@mcollege.co.za

High Performance Recruitment: Mr Zola Mazwi mazwiz@mcollege.co.za

Sports Admin Assistant:  Ms Nolwazi Ngcobo collegesport@mcollege.co.za

Sports Admin Assistant: Mr KG Shezi shezim@mcollege.co.za

Biokineticist: Mr Jason Greeff greeffj@mcollege.co.za

Sports Officer for Cricket: Mr Shaun Sinclair sinclairs@mcollege.co.za

Strength and Conditioning Assistant: Mr Austin Landman landman@mcollege.co.za

 

Support Staff: BE, Grounds and School

Mrs Renelle Cole

Mrs Clementine Dlamini

Mr Lucky Gasa

Mrs Sylvia Hlela

Mr Aaron Kheswa

Mr Wellington Mbense

Mr Otto Ngcobo

Mr Mlungiseli Duma

Mr Mosi Khumalo

Mr Vusumuzi Mtolo

Mr Abbot Zondi

Mr Temba Zondi

Mr Lawrence Masiko

Mr Micion Msomi

Zarm Farm

Zarm Farm Co-Ordinator: Mrs Joanne Hoyle hoylej@mcollege.co.za